The Marvels Of Serendipity

blog6

Humans fear the unknown by nature. I’ve been told several times over that it is instinctive for our species to attempt to find patterns in every fabric of the universe, even when there are no patterns to be found. Fear of Darkness ranks number four on the List of Top Phobias, right next to Fear of Death.

Why is that? When we close our eyes, be it temporarily or for an eternity, we can’t see what is ahead and therefore admit ourselves to the realm of the unknown. Likewise, life is undeniably unpredictable and the topic of the future can be rather unsettling.

We don’t like change, nor do we take pleasure in uncertainty. People become so accustomed to ‘the familiar’ and ‘safe’ that anything outside of our personal bubble is unthinkable. But what if I asked you to take a moment to look back and reflect on the past? Think back to one month ago. Six months. One year. Two years.

How much has changed in that time? I can guarantee that in this very moment you are reminiscing many regrets and many triumphs – both of which have led you to this exact moment in time and have shaped you into the person you are today.

There is nothing more inexplicably terrifying and exhilarating than unveiling the uncertainty that is the future. 

Serendipity.

It is defined as “the development of events in a happy or beneficial way”.

As horrifying as it may seem to take the first steps into the rest of your life, the most fun comes in discovering that the best has yet to come. There are many destinations and people to meet in the coming legs of each of our individual journeys – all of which are too grand to anticipate. Taking a chance on life and navigating through the uncertainty will surprise you! 

For many of us, September means back to school or back to work, henceforth, many of us will be starting a new beginning – a new chapter. Though we are uncertain of what this new year will bring, it is an opportunity for us to live life to its fullest and experience what is in store for us. There are so many opportunities out there – things to do, places to see and people to meet. Imagine what it will be like looking back on today a year from now. How much would have changed in that time? 

Two years ago was a significant beginning for me. I couldn’t decide if entering high school was a nightmare or a dream. There would be so many people! Would they accept me? What if I don’t make friends? The school is huge, how am I supposed to find my classes? The media gave me no comfort either (thanks Mean Girls!).

Looking back on how I felt and who I was back then, I had nothing to worry about. I scroll through my pictures on Facebook leading back to Freshman Year and am amazed at all that has happened since then. Serendipity. These past two years have given me some of the most amazing memories and some of the most amazing people to share the memories with. I stand, as a testament of time, astonished with where life has taken me thus far.

I’ve made many new friends in different provinces, states and countries. I’ve traveled to LA, New York, Chicago and Atlanta. I’ve performed on stages and stood in crowds. I have become a part of a global community. With each passing year my Bucket List becomes shorter and the pages of my journal fill up.

This year will, again, be a new beginning and a new chapter, as my Junior years are over. According to society, over the next two years I am responsible for determining a good portion of the rest of my life. Yes, things suddenly got scary, but life has so much to offer so I think things will be okay. I know that in two more years I will be starting an even more significant chapter when I enter post-secondary…I can already feel the “first-day jitters and butterflies”. However, I’ve found that serendipity has a way of sneaking up on you with surprises.   

For anybody and everybody starting a new chapter this year I wish you the best of luck. Life is worth living so don’t just rush through it blindly. Take a moment, take a chance, take a deep breath and buckle up because the ride will be incredible. In one year you will look back and take delight in all the new experiences you’ve gained.

Embrace the unknown and take a leap of faith! Good luck and happy new year!      


Leave a comment